Saturday, April 19, 2003

So the other day I'm lying on the Mall, watching a bunch of Marines do pushups, and thinking life couldn't possibly get any better. Well it would have been a hell of a lot better if they'd all taken their shirts off, but I didn't think the odds of that happening were all that high. So just when I thought things couldn't be more perfect, along comes this dumpy couple. Wearing fanny packs and quite obviously from one of the Flyover states. So dumpy wife turns to dumpy husband and says "what's that big building down there? The one with the dome?" I shit you not. And then it got even better. Dumpy husband turns to dumpy wife and says "for christ's sake, Marjorie- that's the White House."
I am really not kidding. Now, I know I bitch about the eternal stupidity of Other People, but sometimes it's so goddamn amusing. I snorted iced coffee out my nose. Which hurts. But even that couldn't ruin the day. Honestly- how these people cross the street without getting slammed by trucks, I have no idea.

PS Note for freaks who live under rocks: The big building with the dome is THE CAPITOL BUILDING. The center of washington. The one on all the postcards. Jesus.

No comments: