Wednesday, November 29, 2006

The Unpleasantness

The Unpleasantness.


lish says: oh. NOW you're here
Cara says: You're a very good observer
lish says: AFTER the amputee girl.
Cara says: I watch House on Fridays
lish says: I’m supposed to be having a drink and watching french people play guitar but I’m tired and lame. Hence, house.
Cara says: goody
lish says: so my friend richard was being very sweet and says we're so funny we should have an "internet radio show"
lish says: which just tickles me because fuck, scotland is a techie place, what is his excuse for never having heard the word "podcast"?
Cara says: Sure, he thinks we’re funny, because when we post we edit out the many hours of 'fuck YOU'. And hee.
lish says: i think next time i'll leave it all in. and it'll just be "to a BEAR". "FUCK YOU" "TACO HOLE"
lish says: i HAD tacos tonight!
Cara says: FUCK YOU. You...you... Fucking taco eater from France
lish says: i had a soft taco AND a crunch taco and a bean and cheese burrito and don't say the word lard to me. for I am a snowflake. I am unique and can destroy nations, if pushed
Cara says: Heeee
lish says: my boss yesterday made a joke in a meeting and i SAID HEE.
Cara says: Heeee. I've done that
lish says: god it has to stop. somehow we managed to avoid the entire lol revolution and now I sit at work and hee
Cara says: It's okay though. Because it's all spelled out
lish says: yes. it's spelled out in its own right letters so it's ok for us to say it

lish says: i don't remember this futurama. i love how i never remember the first five minutes or so
Cara says: Of ANYTHING
lish says: that was my POINT
lish says: not all of us remember being BORN, you twisted little mutant
Cara says: Withnail and I was on today. I almost watched it so I could take the wind out of your sails. And you would drift aimlessly in your ocean of fastfood Mexican, you bitch
lish says: aw fuck, probably on some channel I don't get because Non-Hooker-Buying Anal-Retentive Roommate has decreed it so. he only eats soy so I hate him
lish says: we have a fridge full of lactose-free pseudocheese and I am offended on what I suspect is practically a molecular level
Cara says: What...what if your cheese catches it?
lish says: I know! I have to keep my delightful raw sheep's milk bricks of joy in the fucking crisper!
lish says: they don't BELONG there!
Cara says: Well. Otherwise they might get soy rabies!
lish says: scabi- oh
Cara says: Which, while being less itchy than slut rabies, is no good
lish says: that was slabies
lish says: soybees
lish says: someone almost got rocky mountain spotted fever on house. i clapped. but then it wasn't.
Cara says: Damn
lish says: someone will get diptheria. someday.
lish says: it's on my Dreams list
lish says: err. it's in the "Lameoid" column of my Dreams list
Cara says: That's okay. Tonight I was actually upset to see a character Ed Begley Jr. played die
lish says: ......we all have our faults?
Cara says: ..I don't know
lish says: well you woudln
lish says: 't
lish says: damn my constantly errant pinkies!
lish says: useless finger. why didn't they fall off instead of our awesome awesome tails?
Cara says: You really need to remove them. And I don't WANT a tail. I have enough trouble finding pants
lish says: if we all had tails pants would be cut to accommodate them. and think of all the reaching. Think of….think of all the felt we would save on our Sexy Cat halloween costumes!
Cara says: ....I still do not want a tail
lish says: you know why that is?
lish says: because you suck.
Cara says: Why don't you beat me with your TAIL
lish says: think about it for a second. you know when you're walking down the street carrying bags in both hands and your handbag sort of starts to slide off your shoulder and it's really annoying and you have to put a bag down in the street to adjust it? If only you had a tail. moron.
Cara says: Oh, my handbag is pretty much permanently on my elbow
Cara says: My shoulders are nonexistant
lish says: heh. it's because you have slopy mutant shoulders
lish says: it's because of your optic nerves. Yeh.
Cara says: Your optic nerves have no room to talk
lish says: only the left one
Cara says: Lopsidey!
lish says: hee, is this the part of the conversation where we joke about how I'm totally going to get glaucoma?
Cara says: Is it gonna lead into another St. Jude's commercial?
lish says: "Alicia was always an active child, always looking at things. we thought she just had an unusually large optic nerve. Turns out she was going to get GLAUCOMA"
lish says: heeeeeeeeeee. and yes.
Cara says: HATE YOU
lish says: god that's never going to get old
Cara says: Until I die of TRAMPOLINE CANCER
lish says: i was just gonna say!
lish says: did we not decide on trampolinoma?
Cara says: I prefer the Latin name. Tramposi Sarcoma
lish says: the great thing about this is we're going to have such great seats for all the movies they show in hell.
Cara says: Yeah, but there'll be the tallest people ever in front of us
lish says: and it's hell, so they'll just be showing the da vinci code the entire time. and us without any gummi bears to stick to the screen
Cara says: They're making the SEQUEL
lish says: ......no
Cara says: Mmm hmmm
lish says: is it called The Da Vinci Code II: That One Thing That Was Sort of A Prototype Helicopter Was Really A TiVo!
Cara says: 'And it's clearly explained in this book. Written in modern English. By Da Vinci'
lish says: or is it called "Tom Hanks: You Thought He Was Pretty Cool When Big Came Out But Boy Were You Ever Wrong"
lish says: wait. Are you seeing this ad with all these midgets?
lish says: that was far too many midgets.
Cara says: Also known as 'Stick To Producing Movies about Bands of Hotness'
Cara says: Noooo
lish says: I…don't want to talk about all those midgets.
lish says: that wasn't a movie, it was a bbc co-produced miniseries. you idiot.
Cara says: Point is, you can go choke on some pinto beans
lish says: he ought to get on making that movie called "Matthew Settle Runs Around Naked for No Discernable Reason, Possibly in the Mediterranean"
lish says: i hate pinto beans. they're the oldsmobile of the bean family
lish says: i don't know what that analogy meant, so don't ask me to follow up on it
Cara says: Well. Meet his brother, the I Don't Care bean
lish says: heeee. I ..........CARE
lish says: do the I Don't Care Beans say "I don't give a hill of beans"? Because
Cara says: Go sit in the corner. Right now
lish says: I....I am! can you SEE me? all I have in this room is corners.
Cara says: You're in time out for five minutes
lish says: which....makes it not unlike most rooms. my point is, they're the only part in which sitting is possible
Cara says: You think about what you've done. And who you've hurt
lish says: I hurt nobody. the world hurts me. because it doesn't understand my specialness
Cara says: If the world understood your specialness you wouldn't be allowed to use a fork
lish says: this is true
Cara says: And you'd have a circle of paper
lish says: someone is really going to have to explain those to me one day
lish says: they're just a license to garrotte somebody.
Cara says: I don't think one really needs a license to garrotte somebody
lish says: look, it doesn't roll off the tongue quite like license to kill, but you know, piano wire has gotten a bum rap for far too long
Cara says:You should start a group
lish says: yeah. there oughta be a law.
Cara says: You're going to have to find another corner to sit in
lish says: I can't! my bookshelf is there!
lish says: if you're asking me to defy the laws of physics, you're too late. you should've been here about three weeks ago. so there.
Cara says: Go stand on your head
lish says: no. the floor space in here isn't enough for head standing
Cara says: Stand on your head on the bed
lish says: that would be bad.
lish says: there would be.......unpleasantness.
Cara says: Like with Mr. Dash?
lish says: heeee
lish says: he just never saw that coming
Cara says: Well. That Mrs. Dash. So quick
lish says: Mr Clean was such a whore. All men cheat.
Cara says: He was two timing Mrs. Dash with Mrs. Butterworth
lish says: well. considering Mr Dash's stamina, you can't really blame Mrs Dash for starting the whole thing
Cara says: Flash Dash, she called him
lish says: ....except she didn't have to, because his name was already DASH. which implies everything that needed to be implied
Cara says: SHE LIKED TO RHYME
lish says: non-oil based pan greasers cannot create poetry!
lish says: move that hyphen
Cara says: You are so judgmental
lish says: it's not me, there's a law. Well. There oughta be a law.

[later]

lish says: it bothers me that your funeral plans are cooler than mine
lish says: is that overly competitive?
Cara says: ...it's..a little weird
lish says: but...butbut
Cara says: Because...if you're alive to do it. You'll have outlived me
lish says: no, i'm not even factoring that part in
lish says: you get to be shoved off of a waterfall inside a pyramid set inside a viking longship that's on FIRE! i mean come ON!
Cara says: Then you should have chosen it for yourself
lish says: but my funeral plans are mostly to Never Die. So that kind of curtails the festivities
Cara says: Well. think of a song you want played
lish says: .....when? when I.....continue to live?
Cara says: On your Never Die day
lish says: ooh

Cara says: Yes
lish says: do I get to pick the day?
Cara says: As long as it isn't a Wednesday. I never cared for Wedesdays
Cara says: Wednesdays
lish says:haha, youf ucked it up
lish says: gah!
Cara says: ...yes. If ucked it up
lish says:fucking petards.
lish says: dumb anericans]
Cara says: heeeeeeee
lish says: the bracket is important. you have to have the bracket.
Cara says: yes

[even later]


lish says:i have this theory
Cara says: ...is it gonna be like how you're surprised that stuff existed before you were born?
lish says: no, this one’s about butter. when the human race abruptly dies out it will be because of unforeseen side effects of their pseudo-butter oil-based spreads
lish says: like how nobody remembers that saccharine gives you CANCER
Cara says: Well. What doesn't?
lish says: because oooooooo, sugar, it grows in the fucking wilds of nature, but we can't eat it, we can only eat shit with 345 syllables, for we are hipster assholes on diets, and therefore deserve to die
lish says: well, true.
lish says: oranges! oranges don't give you cancer.
Cara says: Oh, I bet they do
lish says: nuhuh
Cara says: Or they give you cholera
lish says: these are lies.
Cara says: And then the joke is 'orange you glad you don't have cancer'
lish says: HEEE!
lish says: but........but you WOULD. So i predict that that joke would fall flat
Cara says: Like you. When you get cancer
lish says: too SOON
Cara says: Oh, not YOU you
Cara says: A general 'you'
lish says: . . . dot. Dot. Dot.
lish says: that's totally the new hee
Cara says: Hee. dot dot dot. It’s like three Mohinders. But why must he be so BORING?
lish says: it makes me wonder… all those times we said we'd pay to see johnny depp just sitting around topless just reading from the yellow pages.....we probably really wouldn't. we'd get bored and go get a soda
Cara says: Well. I don't know
lish says: i mean. if he was just sitting there.
Cara says: If it were JUST Johnny Depp we'd have nothing else
lish says: we said we'd pay just for that
Cara says: Oh. We say a lot of things
lish says: this has been said, out loud, by both of us.
lish says: well, yeah. but for once I think we've conclusively disproved something
Cara says: Besides Buddhism!
lish says: oh yeah!
Cara says: But this one won't anger millions of people. Well...it might. People are dumb
lish says: I totally tried to tell someone about how I disproved buddhism but i was so drunk I kept saying it was hinduism so my arguments made NO sense
Cara says: Heeeee
lish says: well. less sense
lish says: actually no, that was a fucking awesome...disprovation
Cara says: It was. And I can never remember it
lish says: reincarnation
lish says: bugs
lish says: QED
Cara says: I think we have to be within three feet of the pool for most of our stories to make sense
lish says: well we're fucked then aren't we?
Cara says: Like that one about the lesbian jail
lish says: what the HELL was the lesbian jail one?
Cara says: I have no idea. It was part of a story we had where we'd eventually go to jail. And not kooky lesbian jail. REAL jail
lish says: was that the same day as the bridge with the barbecue and teevee built into it? I think it must have been
Cara says: No, it was way later
lish says: hmm.
Cara says: A couple years, possibly
lish says: ok. I've conflated.
Cara says: Torpedo Bob was still alive for the bridge
lish says: oh wow, that takes me back. oh those heady days
Cara says: With him, and Tube! And Ball
lish says:don't. i'm going to start to cry. tube! went before his time
lish says: ball can go fuck itself
Cara says: He did. We should get James Taylor to write a song about him
lish says: heeeeeeee
lish says: no
lish says: randy newman
Cara says: Heeeee
lish says: lookin at the tube!, sittin bein round
lish says: lyin in the pool, getting eaten by awful spiders
lish says: spiders! Spiders.
Cara says: ...that's really about it. Tube! led a fairly tranquil life
lish says: until his grotesque and untimely death
lish says: like a suburban 50's housewife
lish says: except, eaten by spiders
Cara says: ...
lish says: I don't even know
Cara says: yeeeeeeah
lish says: i sometimes lose track of my similes

Cara says: You need a simile net
lish says: Simile Wrangler

lish says: except everyone would think you were a smile wrangler and they'd say cutesy things and you'd have to garrotte them
Cara says: ...I think I'll name my son that
lish says: Garrotte?
Cara says: Yeah. Garrotte Strangler
lish says: therapists drool at the thought of us spawning offspring. ohhh the future revenue
Cara says: If he kills people who fuck with him I'll be like 'Dude. His name is a disclaimer. Not my fault you didn't take heed'
lish says: but if that's true nobody will ever kiss poor Diptheria!
Cara says: sure they will. Kids today don't know what Diptheria is
lish says: and they know what a garrotte is?
Cara says: They know what a Strangler is. He'll go by his middle name





lish says:tom waits is on the daily show!
lish says: i want to bake him muffins
Cara says: Man. Does he do any shows ever?
lish says: NO. except he was renfield that one time
lish says: how OLD is he? it's...impossible to tell
Cara says: ...quite
lish says: you're talking to the girl who would still totally do peter o'toole here
lish says: except not really, because of the saggy caramel balls
Cara says: grooooss
lish says: you said it!
Cara says: Now I can't eat caramel for at least a month
lish says: hmm. he's........1949. I'm subtracting
Cara says: 57
lish says: k. slightly too old
Cara says: yes
lish says: but I'd still do him just because, god
Cara says: heee
lish says: THERE’S a notch on the bedpost. he'd go right below jesus
Cara says: Heeee
lish says: they..they cut him off!
lish says: you don't cut off tom waits! he'll cut off your LEGS!
Cara says: He has to follow the rules, man
lish says: he answers to nobody! not even himself!
Cara says: Heeeeeeee
Cara says: Man, that would get exhausting
lish says: what
lish says: answering to nobody?
Cara says: Not even yourself
lish says: what would you.....do all day?
Cara says: Because I'd be like 'I'm going to bed' and then I'd be like 'Fuck you!'
lish says: heee!
Cara says: 'But I'm really tired' 'Don't you oppress me! Misogynist!'
lish says: antisemite!
Cara says: Hee. I am a horrible person
lish says: yes. yes you are.
Cara says: And..I'm okay with that
lish says: you'd pretty much have to be at this point
Cara says: I am self actualized. And I want juice
lish says: you want a hyphen
Cara says: I know
lish says: sigh
lish says: kids


lish says: jesus christ the pope looks like fucking satan
Cara says: Yeah. He needs some concealer under his devil eyes
lish says: can we get him some sunglasses and dentures? please? before I have screaming nightmares?
Cara says:heee
lish says: hey, I got jesus, the pope and satan into one sentence there. A sentence that really, really needed commas
Cara says: You're good
lish says: I am.
lish says: and I'm ok with that
Cara says: I'm glad
lish says: I'm glad you're glad
lish says: also, your FACE
Cara says: Yeah, well
lish says: stapled to a BEAR
Cara says: NO
lish says: the bear is getting tired. and that makes him grumpy
Cara says: Bears are HIBERNATING now
lish says: yes. with you stapled to one of them
Cara says: Bear dens do not have wireless
lish says: ......big, long cord
Cara says: fuck that. What is this, 2000?
lish says: I......
lish says: my wireless card had corrupted drivers, OK??
Cara says: I'm going to staple your lip to your nose
lish says: upper or lower?
Cara says: You get to pick. It's my gift to you
lish says: that's sweet! I'm touched
Cara says: I like to let the tormented contribute
lish says: but..on the one hand i can't talk or eat, and on the other hand I have to look like joaquin phoenix?
lish says: I definitely pick the one where I can still talk
Cara says: With a big, shiny staple
lish says: ow. but wait, I thought I didn't have a face. you SAID
Cara says: That was the other DAY
lish says: heee
lish says: so let me get this straight, you SCRAPED my face off, and now....it's back.
lish says: you scraped my face off and put a taco in its place! that doesn't just get BETTER!
Cara says: Sure it does
lish says:..........no! No, it does not! I must insist that you respect the laws of causality!
Cara says: The laws of causality have no place here
Cara says: FINE
lish says: FINE!
Cara says: YOU, ALRIGHT? I learned it by watching YOU
lish says: heeeeeeeeeeeeee
lish says: and, scene
Cara says: heee


lish: why do they give tours around helen keller's house? It's not like she ever saw it
Cara: heeee
lish: heh, and they just made my joke for me
lish: oh. Speaking of the daily show. that congressman who was on yesterday… rahm emmanuel
Cara: yeah…..?
lish: is it me or
lish: is he kind of sexy?
Cara: I am so glad it isn't just me!
lish: oh thank god!
Cara: I was watching and I'm like 'I..kind of want to sleep with Rahm Emmanuel'
lish: i............do as well!
Cara: I'm so glad! I was worried!
lish: oh man, what a load off my mind
Cara: And I was like 'But...something. His mouth or something. Shut up!'
lish: i KNOW! he's all twinkly and probably a complete bastard, ergo, I am attracted to him
Cara: I know! I was like 'I bet he is such a dick. Man. He's hot'
lish: i was thinking maybe I should go be on his staff
Cara: On..his...staff

lish: i... didn't even think of that as I typed it
Cara: Heeeeee
lish: 'Dear Rahm, I am not a constituent, but I would like to be on your staff. and I don't mean I want to work in your office. badadum bum bum"
Cara: Heeeeee
Cara: I'll give you a dollar if you do that. An AMERICAN dollar
lish: hey, he worked for this bank my friend ben used to work for, I bet he could hook us up
lish: wikiiing. heee his nickname is "Rahmbo"
lish: that's just so.......wrong. and…..
Cara: heeee
lish: oh dear, you aren't going to want to hear this
lish: because it.....it fucking dovetails for you!
Cara: ?
Cara: Josh is based on him!
lish: 'Bradley Whitford's character Josh Lyman on NBC series The West Wing is rumo- yes!
Cara: He's...he's REAL
lish: and there it is. The Downfall of Cara. Watch as it happens, in realtime.
Cara: He's really, really real!
lish: oh no
lish: this will end in tears
Cara: "No. You see. I have to sleep with you. Because fictional you is my fictional husband!”
lish: it's meant to be, cara. go! go follow your dreams!
lish: HEEEEEE
Cara: HEEE
lish: Fictional You can get given a fictional judicial mestrangement order
Cara: Why are you being so mean? We're both lawyers
lish: HEEEEE
lish: because once I turned into a dog and they helped me
Cara: heeeeee
lish: oh man. it's so meant to be
Cara: Yeah. But Josh didn't have children
lish: bring him the finest bagels and muffins in all the land!
Cara: He can drink from the keg of glory! And that isn't a gross euphemism!
lish: HEEEE
lish: we are now officially creepy. well. YOU are
Cara: I'll stick with Josh. It's..somehow way less creepy to have a crush on a fictional, single person
lish: yes ..........somehow.
lish: you won't be satisfied with the fake now you know there's a real one
Cara: He has KIDS. I HATE kids. I don't wanna get on that trainwreck
lish: some staffer is going to point this post out to him. once I post this in all its glory
Cara: Well. Then I'll add, Call me!
lish: heee!
lish: you can get him into show business, see?
Cara: Heeeee
lish: and you polished your knee pads and EVERYTHING
Cara: why...would I... Who polishes..
lish: you.......hangon
lish: laguhin
lish: finger no workei
Cara: heeeeee
lish: I dont' know, you said it!
Cara: I said she needed NEW knee pads
lish: oh. that.......makes more sense
Cara: It sure does
lish: gosh
Cara: Ah. Good times
lish: heeeeee
lish: god, i have to go to bed. don't wanna
Cara: There oughta be a law
lish: heee
lish: they oughta give me money so I don't have to work
lish: THAT oughta be a law
Cara: Hee
lish: this has been Amusing. Congressman-fucker
Cara: Everyone else is doing it! Why can't I?
lish: heee!
lish: I'll get you some cigars and a blue dress for christmas
Cara: Dude. If I wanted to seduce a guy it would not be by wearing a blue Gap dress
lish: actually- I'm buying you kneepads for christmas, and
lish: you'll have to open them in front of the parents, and
Cara: NOOO
lish: oh how i'll laugh, and laugh
Cara: Because...I'll buy you.. Shoe polish
Cara: Except I'll cross out 'shoe'
Cara: and write 'knee pad'
lish: that........is not nearly as overtly sexual. And it's nonsensical!
Cara: So's your FACE
lish: your face is a TACO
Cara: Mmmm

Tuesday, November 28, 2006

In which we are surprisingly shallow, and hungoverly (hungoverly? yes) discuss the rich tapestry of life that is Monday night teevee.


Cara: Hurry. We must journey into the paaaaast
*** Auto-response sent to Cara: I shall return.
Cara: But it begins NOW. You're missing the guy with the amazing ability to...fix watches
Cara: Oh...That's Sylar. And he's a little bitch. Not surprising

lish: shit
lish: i didn't know you were here
Cara: You Right Asshat
lish: heee
Cara: Hiro saaaaad
lish: ok when that girl, the japanese-learnie girl, said she had an aneurysm, the first thing I thought was "Japanese-learnie girl is such an active child. We thought she was banging her head while climbing trees. Turns out she had a fatal blood clot"
Cara: HEEEE
lish: going. to HELL.
Cara: SO to hell

lish: oh that was sylar?
Cara: Eyebrows?
lish: I take a break to make THREE taquitos and see what I miss.
lish: i figured he was evil, watchmakers are always fucking evil. it's like in the handbook. step one, make sure all gears are connected. step two, align hands. step three, evil. Ok, next show.
lish: you know what's fucking awesome?
Cara: Not Howie Mandel
lish: my boss is at a sales meeting all WEEK. Means I can get to work at like 8:45 instead of 8:30! And openly do nothing instead of secretly doing nothing!
Cara: Heeeeeee
lish: howie mandel was in Little Monsters and is therefore creepy for all eternity
lish: the thing about this show is.....the more I think about it, i hate it so much, and sorkin is such ...such an out of touch little bitch, that i was watching an old west wing and i actually retroactively HATED the west wing
Cara: Wow. And yeah, I want to see it fail spectacularly
lish: but if the um, the "bombshell reveal" is that jordan is pregnant, then...well i was going to say he must think we're all morons, but
lish: i believe that's been proven
Cara: Heee
Cara: Also, why do pregnant women on TV ALWAYS pass out? I know babies are a disease, but
lish: uh....pregnant women really do pass out like....really often
Cara: I know
lish: i mean like, i think all of them always do, so
Cara: But I think they should throw up
Cara: Often
lish: they do that too
Cara: Because that would improve this show
lish: heee
lish: on josh.he could use the ego dropkick
Cara: Heeee
Cara: On...any of them, really
lish: you know what would be fucking awesome? if CJ made a cameo, as CJ, and referred to the entire cast by their west wing names and thought they were all nuts, and all episode you'd have to figure out whether SHE was nuts or whether the whole show was some sort of dream
Cara: HA
Cara: That should be the very last episode
lish: that should.........yes fuck you
Cara: Except at the end Josh'll wake up
lish: CJ wakes up
Cara: And he'll be sleeping with his head on his desk in the White House
lish: and the whole stupid fucking show took place in gail’s goldfish bowl!
Cara: And Donna will come in and go 'Dun dun duuuuun'
lish: HEEEEEEE
lish: either fucking way
Cara: And then just leave
lish: HEEEEE
Cara: Oh!
Cara: And Sam will pop up from somewhere, say 'I'm boyishly optimistic!' and pop back down. Like in Whackamole
lish: heh
lish: and then they will ask him to stay on the show, and he'll say no, i have a solo career elsewhere, and everyone will fall about laughing
lish: but....tastefully
Cara: Heeeee. 'Enjoy your Lifetime movies, Sam'
lish: heeeee
lish: Mother May I Sleep With Sam Seaborne?
Cara: Heee
Cara: May I?
lish: yes, you may
Cara: Sweet. This game has really improved since my youth
lish: they should've made that movie Red Rover instead
lish: like...
lish: Red Rover Red Rover let Danger Come Over, would have been the name, and
lish: the whole movie would just be people walking forwards and backwards. but it's the lifetime channel so while walking, someone would get raped
Cara: Heeeeeeeeeeee
Cara: And a child would go missing
lish: the Child Of Rape. because you'd Cut To Three Years Later
lish: everyone would be all conflicted
Cara: Right. And when the kid came back he'd have been beaten. By the pastor
lish: holy fuck like family guy...did you see that one?
Cara: HEee, yes. Chick cancer
Cara: Anyway. Wow. The Bachelor. Really, Aaron? Way to be up on what the kids are watching
lish: they really are like.....exactly five years behind the entire nation
lish: which is amusing when you think about ....no wait, it isn't amusing. it's just pathetic.
lish: he must be told. he must be told to never show the actual sketch show again. I don't care if we use semaphore or telegrams or skywriting. He must be told
lish: wait what the fuck?
lish: I missed it completely
Cara: A guy shot his family and then himself, so they're cutting a hostage sketch
lish: oh
lish: it would have been a lot more interesting if he'd shot himself, then his family
lish: Ghost Kills Four is always going to win the headline wars
Cara: Heee
Cara: The paranormal equivalent of man bites dog
lish: oh!
lish: err. I just figured out what the theme must've been to the sunday puzzle. you'll want to ignore me
Cara: heeeeee
lish: i KNEW it had to be poltergeist. but it just didn't fit, and i got so annoyed in starbucks, and....ahhhh. errrg...yeah, nevermind. let's just watch the show and I'll put the Geek back away
Cara: Yeah, I got really annoyed and then Biff shredded my copy. It was the nicest thing she's ever done
lish: heh

Cara: That's not what a mitzvah is, you fake Jew!
lish: .....?
lish: on..the show?
Cara: Yeah
lish: someone said the word mitzvah?
Cara: Matt. Just did
lish: were they referring to crackers, because I hear that a lot
lish: ok wait. is josh danny or is he matt? just for clarity's sake. it doesn't really matter
Cara: He said 'It'll be a mitzvah' and Danny went 'What? For I am Aryan' except not really' and Matt went 'A mitzvah- a nice thing to do'
Cara: Josh is Danny
lish: well that's....sort of the definition
Cara: No it's not
lish: if by "nice" you mean…
Cara: 'necessary'
lish: but nobody on the show is allowed to be religious except for Harriet the Lame, remember?
lish: i was trying to think of some riff on Harriet the Spy, but i got nothin
Cara: Harriet is…a..comedian. Who can't tell a joke
Cara: That's...this entire show
lish: i hate her so, so much, i could not possibly hate her character more. i actually hate the actress's parents for birthing her, i hate this particular role so much
Cara: They don't care about reality. They’re TV people!
lish: why do.....not to be callous, but why do they care about the grosse point thing? worse shit than that happens roughly every six seconds
Cara: I know.
lish: although it'd be awesome if they were all just really upset they had to cut the hostage sketch
Cara: Heeee
lish: that'd be the first believable thing on this show
lish: i actually like matt perry in this episode. still hating josh
lish: i don’t know who that guy is
lish: uh
lish: who the fuck is that guy?
Cara: I've seen him before and he creeped me out
lish: considering jordan must be about 5 months pregnant......bitch needs a muffin or something. christ.
Cara: heee
lish: and i HATE THAT ginger kid. he's disgusting and wrong. why the fuck is he allowed to be on the teevee?
lish: I love that jordan has this....folder
Cara: I wish she had a trapper keeper
lish: heeee!
lish: the new ones have like....bluetooth. and they shall become self- aware at midnight on christmas eve
Cara: I think I'm transferring my Josh love to Jack
Cara: Heee
lish: of course you are, he was on Wings. Haven't you seen Wings? it was on for like ten years! Jesus Christ, what's wrong with you
Cara: heeeee. That's Tim DALY. Asshole
lish: no, fuckwad
lish: that guy was on wings too. he was tim daly's BROTHER
Cara: I KNOW
lish: oh, that was still quoting. I knew this.

lish: did some plot just happen?
Cara: Yeah, possibly
Cara: Something's always happening somewhere
lish:yeah. because people are stupid
lish: god… who is that guy? The bald one. I really can’t cope with that. seeing bare scalps make me cringe
lish: i should avoid oncology wards and biker rallies
Cara: Heeee
Cara: And skinheads
lish: well obviously
lish: oh god
lish: the other night in this bar
lish: ok, you know James Callis, greasy yet awesome man? on battlestar
Cara: Yeah
lish: ok there was this guy who looked exactly like him, kissing a guy who looked exactly like crispin glover
Cara: wow
lish: parts of my brain and nervous system melted
Cara: heeee
lish: considering how creepy crispin glover is, it probably was him. he probably has nothing better to do than sit in dive bars in brooklyn
lish: not that....i have....any- fuck you
Cara: heeeee
lish: I have better things to do!
Cara: Uh huh
lish: I'll staple you to a bear.
lish: and the new Bond film? you must see it.
Cara: I did
lish: the chick who's in it wa- oh you have?
Cara: It's on my computer
Cara: ...totally legally
lish: ok good. so answer me this. why was that chick, who was by the way a total pussy and in it WAY too much and I knew she was evil, why was she wearing the Orrin?
Cara: I like Eva Green. And heh. I do not know.
lish: after she drowns by destroying an entire block of fucking venice is she going to go name the empress?
lish: I like her too, despite the fact that SOME people thought it'd be ok to get there late so we were in the fucking second row and I spent three hours staring up everyone's nostrils and wondering why everyone had tiny little heads and giant misshapen hips
Cara: Heee
lish: send it to me, I want to see it straightways on rather than up from below
lish: ....totally legally
Cara: It'll take FOREVER
lish: pshaw. gmail has power.
Cara: It took me like, 24 hours to download it off a torrents site
Cara: ....totally legally
lish: send it before you go to bed, and I'll leave the puter on overnight to download it. totally legally.
Cara: It's surprisingly good quality for a totally legal download
lish: interesting. I find that completely legal downloads are for some reason, often of questionable quality
lish: I'm not entirely sure what happened with that comma just there
Cara: This is almost DVD quality
Cara: Despite the fact that it's a totally legal download
lish: I already paid to go see the fucking thing.
lish: not that I need a reason to participate in this totally legal download

lish: those glasses make josh look like a curmudgeonly 55 year old
lish: rather than a curmudgeonly 40 year old.
Cara: Actually, he's 47
lish: oh goody, sorkin's doing the internets again. he does it SO well. he doesn't sound idiotic at ALL
lish: josh is 47? wow
Cara: I wonder if he'll go on aintitcool anonymously
lish: he would
Cara: Such a little bitch
lish: he really, really is, and it saddens me
lish: it's like they say you should never meet the people whose work you admire
lish: watching this show is like you meet trey parker and he's a complete whinging pussy asshole
Cara: heeee
lish: which he...probably is, and I have NO idea why that's the first person who occured to me, but you see what I mean
Cara: Yeah. This is never going to upload
lish: but I wannit! totally legally.
Cara: Then...go download it!
Cara: legally!
lish: my torrent program crashed my puter! my puter is FIVE years old! it's a fucking pleiosaur!
lish: oh dear, passive voice. ah. it's this week's Lesson. Thank you Aaron, for these blessings that we have received
lish: lookit amanda peet's big, knocked-up ass
Cara: heee
lish: yes, I mocked her for being too thin about ten minutes ago. I'm a complex person.
Cara: uh huh
lish: look, I would kill a small village for her cheekbones, allow me my bitchiness. For once.
Cara: ..for...once?
lish: …yeah, I was waiting
Cara: For...ONCE?
lish: shut the fuck up already
Cara: FOR ONCE?? Stop smoking the crack!

Cara: People worry me
lish: like that town where they made them take down the peace-sign wreath because it was ....."disrespectful towards soldiers and possibly a sign of devil-worship"? I really shit you not. I hate this fucking country and almost absolutely everybody in it.
Cara: Oh my God
lish: yes indeedy

lish: hee ok
lish: that's the first time this show has made me laugh
Cara: Sorkin's always good with people getting hit by doors
lish: that's true. He shoulda been in vaudeville. look, shut up already, Aaron. yes, we know you're better than everyone else, here's a pie
Cara: Hee
lish: one thing this show does have is TWO actresses that I like. which....the odds are almost astronomical
lish: oh so that episode last week, the horrible horrible sexist thing about Harriet taking off her clothes...he broke up with kristin chenoweth and she did a lingerie spread
lish: so he decides to skewer her. On tv.
lish: ......COCK
Cara: ...wow
Cara: That's worse than Leanne! And ew. Kristen Chenoweth dated Aaron Sorkin?
lish: yep.
Cara: Man. She must have the patience of a saint
lish: probably she does a lot of coke
Cara: Apparently not enough
lish: the problems always start when people STOP taking coke, have you noticed? Robin Williams, exhibit A.
Cara: Not if you're Kate Moss

lish: who IS that guy?
Cara: Cut your bangs!
Cara: A hippie! A damned, dirty hippie!
lish: is he a writer? is he a ....motivational.....something?
lish: is he a financial panther?
Cara: He...he's JESUS
Cara: heeeee
lish: grown men should not have bowl cuts and bangs
Cara: No
lish: ........wow. a yoko ono joke. that's so fresh
Cara: heh
lish: he's still actually worrying about something on aintitcool. he's ....obviously not even seen Jay and Silent Bob. THAT is the level of knowledge lack we're talking about here.
Cara: heee
Cara: How did Jordan get to be where she is? Because apparently she's an idiot
lish: sucking dick, how do you think anyone gets a job in hollywood?
Cara: Well. She better get some new kneepads. chick's gonna need them
lish: shit, I need to iron something before tomorrow.
lish: heee that was....a non sequitur. I don't need to iron something so I can go suck some dick and you know what? Moving on
Cara: heeee

lish: ok, that's twice tonight I giggled. I will untie sorkin from the train tracks for....one of your earth hours.
Cara: heeee
lish: i always mean to say that and then I think "will this make me a dork?" and then I think "No, cleavage" but then I forget to say it
Cara: Heeeeeee
lish: do they....do they really expect anyone to believe that...a network head would get fired for....for a blog reporting snide things she said to a reporter? is this ...what universe is this?
Cara: 'You seem to have gained fifty pounds!'
lish: heeee
lish: "we thought jordan had gained fifty pounds. turned out she had a BRAIN TUMOR"
Cara: HEEE
Cara: In her...abdomen
lish: dun dun DUN, to.....NOBODY
lish: i really don't think they want to cross-promote this show with SNL
Cara: Dude. there's no way bond is every gonna upload
lish: it's like....the obsolete following the....never-was....or something cleverer
lish: are you still trying? is it sending? or still uploading to your gmail?
Cara: It's still uploading
lish: heee

lish: so I just went to go to the bathroom but no, because that is now the seventh craigslist whore that my roommate has fucked in our shower in the past fortnight
Cara: Maybe his dick will fall off
lish: I really hope if it does it doesn't do it in my goddamn shower
lish: I don't....he is....not attractive or funny or appealing in any way
Cara: Well. Women who..ask for sex on Craigslist can't all be winners either
lish: i must go find a bucket in which to vomit
lish: that's the thing! they're all relatively pretty, well-dressed
lish: not hooker-dressed.
Cara: Are you sure they're not hookers anyway?
lish: I really am flummoxed
Cara: Maybe they're all nymphos
lish: they're all like...fucking fresh off the boat from minnesota
Cara: Maybe he told them he could get them into pictures, see
lish: heeeeeeee

Wednesday, November 15, 2006

Home Improvement

So. I have decided that, since everything else on the entire planet sucks the ass of leprous donkeys, I will at LEAST have a bedroom I enjoy being in, gods damn it. Plus the feng shui is kind of bad in there at the moment, my chi's been feeling heavy, and I don't like the corner my head is in when i sleep.

Now what I forgot was that, the dimensions of the room being what they are, it took me three weeks with a measuring tape and GRAPH PAPER to get everything into the room properly in the first place. And it's all in there in an interlocking kind of way such that you have to move the bed before you can move the bookshelf, and you have to move everything else OUT of the room before you can move the bed, et cetera. but did I take any of this into account? No. For I am Romano, and I defy the laws of physics, so I just started moving shit around. Really all I wanted to do was put the bookshelf at the other end of the bed, remove the headboard and stick it on the other end so that became the head side. But the thing is, as I forgot somehow, you can't slide the bookshelf out because I had to put it there BEFORE the bed and lower the bed down around it because the bed frame has these hooks...well it just does. So once I discovered this I figured ok, the only way to do this is if I LIFT the bookshelf up and then angle it up and over the hook, lying it down on the bed, and then I can twist it 45 degrees around, slide it off the bed, slide the bed back, and reverse the process on the other side. This seems like a perfectly reasonable and simple plan. Oh, heeee. So there I am with this 8 FEET TALL bookshelf suspended in air stuck on the wall behind it half leaning over the bed because there isn't enough room to angle it by 45 degrees- oh, did I mention that I didn't bother to remove the books before I did this? So there are books everywhere, everywhere, and the bookshelf won't move, so I swear to god I stood and GLARED at it for ten minutes and figured fuck you physics, and I stood on the other end of the bed and pulled and pulled and swore and somehow that damn thing went up and around the hooks. And then slid right through the pile of books on the bed and landed so that it is lying diagonally across the room, with nowhere to go in any direction. At this point I had a small glass of wine.

Back to the bookshelf. I managed to get it back up on the bed and swing it around, but the only way to have enough room to do this was to swing it so that the end was sticking about three feet out the window, which was fine, and then slide it backwards to the only place where there was currently any floor space, namely in front of the door. So i couldn't get out of the room. So then I had to contort myself at a sort of 70 degree angle over the bed and behind it to remove the headboard with that little L-shaped doohicky that you do these things with that I LOATHE MORE THAN NAZIS and then I had to slide the headboard UNDER the bed because there was no floor space. So I did that, but to get the headboard under the bed I had to first remove all the stuff that was under the bed, and I can't put them out in the hallway because the bookshelf's blocking it, remember? Ok, you're still with me. So all that stuff goes on top of the ever-more precarious pile of crap on the bed. So. I put the bed back in place, and went to slide the bookshelf in on the other side of the bed only to realize, only THEN to realize, ONLY THEN TO FUCKING REALIZE that the reason the bookshelf had been on the other side in the first place was that THIS side had the bloody goddamn shelf on the wall with the tv on it, so there was no physically possible way of putting the bookcase in that same space, which is why I put the bookshelf on the other side to begin with. Jesus wept. My failure to notice this fixture, at which I stare nightly, is perplexing, to say the least. So I stood there glaring for a while and realized i had two options. I could A) move everything back to the way it was or B) get a screwdriver and a pair of pliers and just the fuck remove the shelf the tv is on. Guess which one I decided to do?

Cut to about two hours later. I have now lifted my rather large tv off the shelf, which is 6 feet up on the wall, in the process of which I believe I may have dislocated both my shoulders. But the thing is down. On the bed. in the pile of books and stuff from under the bed. Things are sliding. The shelf, which was apparently attached with 1/2inch diameter BOLTS, has been removed. Several of my fingers have fallen off. Success! I cry, and slide the bookshelf into place, slide the bed back into place, sit back to contemplate a hard job well done, and.......at this point it occurs to me that there's now nowhere to put the tv. So.

I decide that the original shelf was too big for the tv anyway and if I cut it down, I can put it BACK on the wall but taking up much less space and slide the bookshelf next to it. So I get out my saw. Measurements, you say? Measurements are for fags! I eyeball the shelf. I begin to saw.

Cut to 45 minutes later. Several more of my fingers have gone numb and/or fallen off. The entire room is covered in sawdust. The Precarious Pile on the bed is covered in sawdust. I am blind as I forgot to take out my contacts and THEY are covered in sawdust. The shelf is...by some strange miracle, cut to exactly the right size. Huzzah. I go to reattach the shrunken shelf to the wall. Only to realize that the bolts, while removable with a pair of pliers, will not go IN to the wall without a drill. And I can't use the old holes because the shelf is no longer the same size. This might be the right time to point out that it is now 2 am on Tuesday night. I am not giving in! For I am Romano, and Reality can go take a running leap into a tar pit. So. Firstly I vacuum away all the sawdust. I rearrange the ENTIRE rest of the room so that I can just put the tv on top of one of my wee cupboard things. I get everything rearranged, put the tv on top of the cupboard and only at this point do I realize that, with the tv there, the bedroom door only opens about by 6 inches.

Needless to say, the tv is still there. Today I go to buy a drill.