Diatribe.
Why, why why. Why does FOX have the contract to air the playoffs and the series. Well that's a dumb question, they have the contract because they bid approximately a misquillion dollars for it. But...but....why were they even allowed to bid? I mean is there a god or not? I have never ever ever seen coverage this terrible. The camerawork looks like it was done by a Martian, or someone from Wales, or someone else who knew nothing about baseball. They cut away from the ump who's about to reverse the foul call to show a shot of fans in the bleacher seats. They show a replay of an uncontroversial play SIX times. They, being Fox, load the screen with logos and graphics and flashy lights and just general wanking. I know that postseason play is a bit of a spectacle and they want ratings. But this is baseball, not the fucking WWF.
All this, however, is piddling peanuts compared to the commentary. First of all far be it from me to make an assumption but I was under the impression that postseason coverage, as it goes out to a national audience, is supposed to be neutral. And they get- Tim McCarver? Excuse me but wasn't this man _fired_ from an earlier commentating job because he was....terrible? Wasn't it the Yankees who fired him? Why, I believe it was! Yes I'm sure he's neutral. The coverage so far has been so blatantly anti-Yankees that it is unbelievable. And yes, I'm a Yankee fan. But I don't expect the announcers to be pro-NY- i expect them to at least display a semblance of neutrality. It is making me sick. Not only that, but their commentary has been puerile and simplistic and just flat out stupid. And I mean, trailer park-stupid. When they aren't stating the obvious they're getting their facts wrong, and when they're not doing that they're going off on rambling discussions of utterly irrelevant wank like which celebrities they've seen sitting in the front row of basketball games. Watching the game tonight I didn't even notice the Yankees were losing because I was too busy screaming at the announcers.
In sum, I would like to submit a plea to the Commisioner of baseball. Please, please do not let Fox get their grubby little hands on the postseason next year. This is a travesty. And please please, Mr Steinbrenner, go to Congress and get some sort of Constitutional amendment that would ban Fox from ever, ever airing the yanks again. Yankee baseball is one of the last bastions of purity and elegance in this country. Letting the fucking Fox network anywhere near it is like taking the Hope Diamond and painting it hot pink. Or serving truffles to the Osbornes. And to you, Mr Tim McCarver, I say this- you've been fired from announcer jobs twice. Even the METS fired you. Jesus Christ, can you not take a hint? Get off my television before I throw up. Go back to Philadelphia. They have no standards in Pennsylvania.
Oh by the way, the Yankees lost. That kind of blew also.
No comments:
Post a Comment