I believe I've previously covered the fine line between Awesome and Asshole, a line which I tread like a coked-up Romanian gymnast on a balance beam.
Case in point.
Got home on Wednesday night around 2ish...everything was fine until the martinis. I do not know what was in that martini but I'm assuming some mix of absinthe, roofies and crack. Oy. Don't actually remember walking home. And apparently I called my sister. And forgot that she was in Georgia, instead of Connecticut, and after being reminded of this six times decided to call it "Conorgia". I remember none of this.
The bits that she was able to recall- for the first five minutes or so I was apparently so incoherent that I was only pronouncing the first half of every word, and she told me I sounded like the swedish chef. At which point I went on a rant about how I wanted a headless rubber chicken to carry around. Which somehow segued neatly into a rant about how I wanted men in suits with those little secret-service earpieces to follow me around and protect me. Because there was a man across the street watching me, maybe, or possibly he didn't actually exist. She wasn't sure. I wasn't entirely clear about it.
At one point I said "ooh, water" and then was silent for a full five minutes. While she laughed helplessly.
Throughout the conversation it seems she was having trouble understanding me because even once I started using whole words, I guess I was omitting all the verbs. It seems we got into a fight about gerunds, at which point I turned and shouted down the street "I have fantastic cleavage and a problem with transitive verbs!!"
Yeah, I don't know. This isn't even fuzzy...I just don't remember a second of it. It rings no bells. You think I'd remember some of this. I really wish she'd taped it. That's really all she could remember even though we talked for about a half hour. Most of it was me going on about how awesome I was. With occasional breaks to yell down the street, things such as "I can't believe I'm talking in the street!"
If I weren't me, I would HATE me. Nights like that I really wonder how on earth I get my contacts out without gouging my corneas. It was only 4 drinks! And it isn't one of those situations where I think it was only four drinks because my memory fades out around drink 7 and then retroactively blurs the previous three. I actually did only have 4. * I don't know what that bartender was playing at with that martini. Possibly I should sue.
Either I am priceless, or I should be sterilized and destroyed. For the children. Won't somebody please think of the children?
PS See? SEE?? And people say I'm being paranoid.
And I really want this to be the first thing that comes up when people google "swedish chef and collection of severed heads." I feel I've accomplished that today.
* Apparently this is not true. Apparently there was a whole other bar at the end there that I do not remember going to at all. Apparently I was speaking french with the bar staff who were attempting to close the bar. I do not speak french. Remember when I said it could be worse? It couldn't.
2 comments:
And how many hangovers have you had where you woke up and said, "Brilliant! I'm the most amazing person, EVER!"
Duh. I'm shocked at how much you've forgotten. You need to come back to the UK. None of this next-morning-self-doubt.
Unless you shagged him.
No, I did not.
And tell me about it- when you start getting embarrassed about being drunk, it's definitely time to go back to the UK.
Find me a goddamn job over there, rich, goddamnit. Before I become utterly boring.
Post a Comment